Oct. > Nov.
2 > 17
face-to-face--portraits-of-basques-in-the-american-west-by-zoe-bray

Face to face - portraits of Basques in the American West, by Zoe Bray


The people whose portraits are shown in this exhibition are of varying ages and from different professional and social backgrounds. But they are all American citizens, and they all share identification with the Basque Country, based largely on ancestral ties but kept alive through active participation in social activity and exchange.

It is this commitment to Basque identity that Zoe Bray set out to explore when she embarked on this project some years ago as a new arrival in the American West.

Zoe Bray lives in Reno, Nevada. A member of Itzal aktiboa, she is an artist trained in academic techniques and also an anthropologist. As such, she has always been curious to know more about the context and process involved in representing other people.

“I was conscious that I was coming to this part of the world in the footsteps of my great grandfather, who had left his village in Lower Navarre in the early 1900s to work as a sheepherder in Nevada, like so many of his peers at the time. As a new settler in the region, I felt the need to reflect further on my own identity and on how I possibly fitted in as a member myself of a Basque diaspora. Portrait-painting here enabled me to connect personally with the Basque American community, working with individual members of this diaspora on something that became more than just a pictorial representation.“

Place: Musée Basque et de l'histoire de Bayonne

Town: Baiona

Contact us


ItzalAktiboa - Zitadelaren karrika, 22 - 64220 DONIBANE GARAZI
+33671005723

Oct. > Nov.
2 > 17
face-a-face--portraits-de-basques-dans-louest-americain-par-zoe-bray

Face à face - portraits de Basques dans l'Ouest Américain, par Zoe Bray

Exposition

Les personnes dont les portraits sont présentés dans cette exposition sont d'âges différents et d'horizons professionnels et sociaux variés. Mais ils ont en commun le fait d’être tous des citoyens américains et de s’identifier tous avec le Pays basque grâce à des liens ancestraux renforcés par leur participation active à des initiatives sociales et culturelles.

C’est cet engagement envers une identité basque que Zoe Bray a voulu explorer, en se lançant dans ce projet peu après son arrivée il y a quelques années dans l’Ouest américain.

Zoe Bray vit à Reno, au Nevada. Membre d'Itzal aktiboa et artiste formée aux techniques traditionnelles de la peinture, elle est aussi anthropologue. A ce titre, elle a toujours été intéressée de voir comment et dans quel contexte la représentation de l’individu s’effectue. En se rendant dans l’Ouest américain, elle était consciente de suivre les traces de son arrière-grand-père, qui avait quitté son village en Basse Navarre au début des années 1900 pour travailler, comme tant de Basques à l'époque, en tant que berger au Nevada.

"En venant à mon tour m’installer dans cette région, j'ai ressenti le besoin de réfléchir sur ma propre identité et sur comment me situer comme membre moi-même de la diaspora basque. Peindre des portraits a été pour moi un moyen de nouer des contacts directs, travaillant avec des membres de cette communauté basque américaine sur un projet qui allait bien au-delà d’une simple représentation picturale."

Lieu: Musée Basque et de l'histoire de Bayonne

Ville: Baiona

Contactez-nous


ItzalAktiboa - Zitadelaren karrika, 22 - 64220 DONIBANE GARAZI
+33671005723